Peer Feedback (beta edition)

Screenshot: A Podcast Update

A Podcast Update

I believe feedback is super beneficial and effective for students in the early stages of framing their ideas and perceptions of their media niches for a public audience. Feedback is crucial to help peers achieve their personal best and present them with further insight into useful methodologies for improvement. In this peer’s beta video she has presented her media niche on feminist podcasting, where she interviewed female guests and discussed the inequalities women experience in their everyday lives. After analysing her video I developed a new perspective on the style and presentational format that I could utilise in future video presentations. However, I was also able to differentiate our ideas on the conceptualisation of an online persona. Her persona was based on her experiences as a female university student and her perception of her surrounding world. I conceptualised my online persona analysing ‘performativity’ in both the ‘Five Dimensions of Online Persona’ and ‘The Presentation of Self in Everyday Life’. 

In this beta video she explained her problems promoting her media niche and the lack of feedback as a result of the minimal content uploaded onto her Soundcloud platform. I suggested that she promote her podcasts onto YouTube to promote her media niche to a larger audience. I understood her situation as my Pinterest and Deviant Art page do not receive as many interactions as my Instagram page, and when I do receive comments they are usually bots. In observing a peer’s beta videos it potentially allows students to expand their ideas and open up new possibilities when presenting a public persona. After viewing her video I suggested ‘The Five Dimensions of Online Persona’ as this might help to shape her interpretation on the performative dimension of persona. She might find this reading a useful  resource when performing her podcast’s narrations which could also develop her integration and synthesis of knowledge.

Published by Carla Cavancha

I create blog posts for my university assignments showcasing my innovate and creative ideas.

Leave a comment